International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO)

New Zealand was among the 52 States that signed the Chicago Convention on 7 December 1944. With 26 more ratifications received, the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) came into being 4 April 1947. The Civil Aviation Act 1948 ratified New Zealand acceptance of the Convention on International Civil Aviation.

ICAO is a specialised agency of the United Nations, formed to promote the safe and orderly development of international civil aviation throughout the world. It sets standards and regulations necessary for aviation safety, security, efficiency and regularity, as well as for aviation environmental protection. The Organization serves as the forum for cooperation in all fields of civil aviation among its 190 Member States.